Opposition to Divide Chairmen Posts in Controlling Committees

Opposition should agree on division of vicechairmen's posts in parliamentary committees (photo by TASR)

Bratislava, March 18 (TASR) – Four opposition parties – liberal Freedom and Solidarity (SaS), OLaNO-NOVA, We are Family-Boris Kollar and far-right Kotleba-People’s Party Our Slovakia (LSNS) – should agree on the allocation of chairmen’s posts in parliamentary committees in upcoming days, according to Smer-SD leader Robert Fico.

This is in keeping with tradition and should concern the special parliamentary committee for the National Security Office (NBU), the special parliamentary committee for the Slovak Intelligence Service (SIS), the special parliamentary committee for Military Intelligence and the parliamentary committee that oversees NBU’s decisions.     Also in keeping with tradition, Opposition MPs are also at the helm of the parliamentary conflict of interest and the human rights committees. An Opposition MP has also led the parliamentary foreign committee in the previous term, however, it is not a rule.

“Concerning committees, SaS leader Richard Sulik will consult with OLaNO-NOVA leader Igor Matovic and We are Family leader Boris Kollar on the issue, probably on Monday (March 21),” said spokesperson of the strongest Opposition party SaS, Katarina Svrcekova.

Committee chairmen are elected by Parliament. These posts, as well as the Parliamentary chair and four vice-chairs will be elected at an inaugural session of the House, convened by President Andrej Kiska for Wednesday (March 23).

In keeping with tradition again, the Opposition will also fill one of the four parliamentary vice-chair posts. SaS, as the second highest vote-getter, should gain it in line with the general election result. In the previous term it was filled by OLaNO, namely by Erika Jurinova.