Leaders of EU Institutions Ink Joint Declaration on Legislative Priorities

Slovak Prime Minister Robert Fico (in the middle), European Parliament President Martin Schulz (right) and European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker inking a joint declaration on the EU's legislative priorities for 2017 (photo by TASR/Government Office)

Strasbourg/Brussels, December 13 (TASR-correspondent) – Top representatives of the three European institutions signed a joint declaration on the EU’s legislative priorities for 2017 in Strasbourg on Tuesday, TASR learnt on the same day.

Slovak Prime Minister Robert Fico signed the document on behalf of the Slovak Presidency of the EU Council and the two other signatures were added by European Parliament President Martin Schulz and European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker.

“This is a historic moment, as for the first time we’re signing a joint declaration regarding legislative priorities,” said Fico.

The greatest benefit of the document is that it’s aimed at EU citizens and it’s now politicians’ task to show people tangible results, added the Slovak premier.

“Today’s joint declaration represents a new milestone in the way how the EU can achieve better and faster results in tackling our common challenges. There may be three different institutions, but there is only one European project for which we work and represent the interests of all EU citizens,” said Juncker.

The declaration includes specific areas in which the three EU institutions want to join their efforts in order to ensure progress, more effective work and better results.

The priorities set for 2017 are as follows: giving a new boost to jobs and investment; addressing the social dimension of the EU; better protecting EU citizens’ security; reforming the EU’s migration policy; delivering on a digital single market; building an energy union; and a forward looking climate change policy.

Moreover, the Council, Parliament and Commission want to focus on common European values, fighting tax fraud, preserving the principle of free movement and strenghtening stability, security and peace in Europe.

All of the three institutions agreed to closely monitor the fulfilment of the declaration.