Dissatisfied Siet MPs Leave Party, Want to Discuss with Most-Hid

One of the five Siet 'leavers' Andrej Hrnciar (photo by TASR)

Bratislava, August 16 (TASR) – MPs Andrej Hrnciar, Martin Fedor, Katarina Csefalvayova, Igor Janckulik and Eduard Adamcik announced on Tuesday that they’re leaving the governing party Siet (Network) and want to hold talks with Most-Hid, TASR learnt on the same day.

The reason for it is their long-term discontent with the party’s management. After former leader Radoslav Prochazka stripped them of their party posts in June they set up their own platform – a ‘Platform for Responsible Policies’ – within the party. But, according to the five MPs, new Siet leader Roman Brecely (elected at a party congress on Saturday, August 13) didn’t give them “any guarantees” of changes that would keep them in the party.

“We can’t continue to bear responsibility for what is happening in the party,” reads the statement of the disgruntled MPs.

Their possible cooperation with Most-Hid is based on Programme’s closeness of the two parties. Within the Most-Hid, they’d like to continue to promote responsible policies and contribute to fulfilment of the Government Manifesto. Hrnciar is a former Most-Hid MP, elected in 2012, but in late 2014 he resigned his seat to help Prochazka form Siet.

Most-Hid spokesman Andras Nagy has confirmed for TASR that the party will discuss possible cooperation with the MP quintet later in the day.

“They have to decide what they want to do. Based on this, we’ll hold talks. But we aren’t there yet,” said Most-Hid chairman Bela Bugar earlier in the day in reference to their meeting.

Siet, elected with 10, now has only two MPs in Parliament – Radoslav Prochazka and Alena Basistova – after the departure of the five departures today. The party doesn’t have a caucus after MPs Miroslav Beblavy, Simona Petrik and Katarina Machackova refused to join the coalition and decided to sit as Independent MPs. Moreover, Prochazka might not remain in Parliament as he is running for the post of an additional judge of the European Union General Court in Luxembourg at the moment.