Kiska and Regional Governors Discuss Priorities of Regions

President Andrej Kiska meeting newly elected and re-elected regional governors at the Presidential Palace (photo by TASR)

Bratislava, December 7 (TASR) – Taking over the offices of the eight self-governing regions as well as the concerns, challenges and priorities of the individual regions were among the main topics discussed by President Andrej Kiska and newly elected and re-elected regional governors on Thursday.

Of the eight governors, only Bratislava regional governor Juraj Droba missed a lunch at the Presidential Palace.

“Each region has its particular issues, but some of them are common,” said the president, adding that the issues that link the governors include roads, health care, hospitals and schools.

Kiska went on to say that many people still don’t realise what the powers of the regions really are and why it’s important to have good regional leadership and councillors.

The governors themselves are ready for their jobs as well as for mutual cooperation. “I think that cooperation is necessary because some projects, especially at the national level, can only be influenced by joining forces and explaining at the Government level that a particular issue has to be addressed somehow,” said Zilina regional governor Erika Jurinova, who is open to good advice and cooperation with everyone – old and newly elected governors.

Newly elected regional governor from Banska Bystrica Jan Lunter, who has replaced Marian Kotleba of the far-right People’s Party Our Slovakia (LSNS), is ready for work and cooperation as well. “We want to cooperate with everyone, including the Government, MPs, citizens, NGOs and church communities in order to be able to change things together in the region so that it’s a good region and worth staying in,” said Lunter, who views the completion of roads, especially expressways, as one of the priorities.

The regional governors include Juraj Droba (Bratislava region), Jozef Viskupic (Trnava region), Jaroslav Baska (Trencin region), Milan Belica (Nitra region), Erika Jurinova (Zilina region), Jan Lunter (Banska Bystrica region), Milan Majersky (Presov region) and Rastislav Trnka (Kosice region).