MP’s Certificates Ceremonially Presented

MP's Certificates Presentation Ceremony (TASR)

Bratislava, March 11 (TASR) – State Commission for Elections and Control of Political Parties’ Financing chairman Eduard Barany ceremonially presented certificates to newly elected MPs in Parliament’s historical building on Zupne Square in Bratislava on Friday.

The 150-seat House will see 77 new MPs, with the remaining 73 retaining their seats from the previous election period. Delegated representatives will become legislators de jure only after taking their vows as prescribed by the Constitution. If an elected MP refuses to take the vow or does so with reservations, he or she loses the mandate.

The general election that took place on Saturday, March 5 was won by Smer-SD on 28.28 percent of the votes (49 seats in parliament). Apart from Smer, another seven parties made it into the House: Freedom and Solidarity (SaS) – 12.10 percent (21 seats), OLaNO-NOVA – 11.02 percent (19 seats), the Slovak National Party (SNS) – 8.64 percent (15 seats), Kotleba-People’s Party Our Slovakia (LSNS) – 8.04 percent (14 seats), We Are Family-Boris Kollar – 6.62 percent (11 seats), Most-Hid – 6.5 percent (11 seats) and Siet – 5.6 percent (10 seats).

The MPs will take their vows at the initial session of the House, which must be held within 30 days of the election.