MPs Elected Three Candidates for Constitutional Court Judges

Slovak Parliament (stock photo by TASR)

Bratislava, May 21 (TASR) – Parliament elected in a secret vote three candidates for constitutional judges who will be offered to Slovak President Andrej Kiska, TASR learnt from the information provided in Parliament after the vote on Tuesday.

The candidates for Constitutional judges are Pavol Boron, Marek Tomasovic and Martin Vernarsky. As the MPs failed to elect a sufficient number of candidates, a repeated vote will be held on Wednesday (May 22) at 11 a.m. All applicants who were not elected are progressing to Wednesday’s vote.

There are currently seven of the total number of 13 judges at the Constitutional Court. After the last election in Parliament, which was held in April, President Andrej Kiska appointed three new constitutional judges from eight elected candidates, thereby making the Constitutional Court plenum functional. He appointed Ivan Fiacan as chairman of the court.