New Governing Coalition Officially Set Up

From left to right: Radoslav Prochazka (Siet), Bela Bugar (Most-Hid), Robert Fico (Smer-SD) and Andrej Danko (SNS) after signing an agreement on setting up a new governing coalition. (Photo by TASR)

Bratislava, March 22 (TASR) – The leaders of Smer-SD, the Slovak National Party (SNS), Most-Hid and Siet – Robert Fico, Andrej Danko, Bela Bugar and Radoslav Prochazka, respectively – signed an agreement on setting up a governing coalition at Bratislava Castle on Tuesday.

The parties had already agreed on how individual government posts will be distributed, with nine ministerial jobs going to Smer-SD, three to SNS, two to Most-Hid and one to Siet.
Smer chief Robert Fico will become prime minister for the third time, while former parliamentary chairman Peter Pellegrini will be given the post of vice-premier for investments.

Five current ministers will retain their posts in the new government – Robert Kalinak (interior), Peter Kazimir (finance), Miroslav Lajcak (foreign and European affairs), Marek Madaric (culture) and Jan Richter (labour, social affairs and the family).

Meanwhile, Slovak Post Office general director Tomas Drucker will become the new health minister as a Smer nominee, while current Environment Minister Peter Ziga will take over the Economy Ministry.

SNS is nominating Peter Gajdos as defence minister, Gabriela Matecna as agriculture and rural development minister, and Peter Plavcan as education, science, research and sport minister.

Most-Hid is sending Laszlo Solymos to the Environment Ministry and Lucia Zitnanska to the Justice Ministry.

Roman Bercely, as transport minister, will be Siet’s only representative in the new cabinet.
At the same time SNS leader Andrej Danko should become parliamentary chairman, with the vice-chairs being outgoing Defence Minister Martin Glvac (Smer-SD), Bela Bugar, Andrej Hrnciar (Siet) and Lucia Nicholsonova (Freedom and Solidarity/SaS).