Opposition to Preside Over Eight Parliamentary Committees

Opposition party chairs Boris Kollar, Richard Sulik and Igor Matovic (stock photo by TASR)

Bratislava, March 21 (TASR) – The Opposition – Freedom and Solidarity (SaS), Ordinary People-NOVA, Kotleba-People’s Party Our Slovakia and We Are Family-Boris Kollar – will occupy a total of eight posts at the head of parliamentary committees, TASR learnt on Monday.

The committees to be occupied by the Opposition are: the special committee for supervising the activities of the National Security Bureau (NBU); the special committee for supervising the activities of the Slovak Intelligence Service (SIS); the special committee for supervising the activities of Military Intelligence (VS); the committee for reviewing the decisions of NBU; the economy committee; the human rights and minorities committee; the public administration and regional development committee; and the committee concerning conflicts of interest in posts. Opposition nominees will also preside over an eight-member commission reviewing the use of information technologies.

The rest of the committees will be headed by one of the members of the coalition of Smer-SD, Siet, Most-Hid and the Slovak National Party (SNS). The committees in question are: the foreign affairs committee; the mandate and immunity committee; the European affairs committee; the constitutional committee; the finance and budget committee; the agriculture and environment committee; the social affairs committee, the health-care committee; the defence and security committee; the culture and media committee; and the education, youth, science and sport committee.

The names of the chairs will be announced at the inaugural session of parliament on Wednesday.