Kazimir Welcomes Blacklist of Tax Havens: We Don’t Like Jiggery-pokery

Finance Minister Peter Kazimir (photo by TASR)

Brussels, December 5 (TASR-correspondent) – Slovak Finance Minister Peter Kazimir praised the decision of Ecofin on Tuesday to compose a blacklist of 17 tax havens and a grey list of other countries that have been put on note.

The press earlier reported that the EU was divided in two blocs – hardliners demanding tough sanctions and the other group preferring softer sanctions with relatively strict supervision. Kazimir said that he didn’t know of such a division, but stressed that Slovakia was in favour of strict measures.

“The business model of our country is based on honest enterprise, car production and high level of industrialisation. Jiggery-pokery and money transfers around the world don’t suit our country,” said Kazimir.

The following countries have been placed on the blacklist: American Samoa, Bahrain, Barbados, Grenada, Guam, South Korea, Macau, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Namibia, Palau, Panama, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia and the United Arab Emirates.