Twelve Candidates Contest for RTVS Director Post

12 contestants for RTVS director post (photo by TASR)

Bratislava, May 10 (TASR) – Twelve candidates are running for the post of Radio and Television Slovakia (RTVS) general director, chairman of the parliamentary committee for culture and the media Dusan Jarjabek (Smer-SD) confirmed for TASR on Wednesday.

The deadline to submit applications has lapsed at 4 p.m. on Wednesday.

The list of contenders who vie for the post of public service RTVS includes Peter Abraham, Margita Bencova, Richard Direr, Fedor Flasik, Janka Lastovicova, Norbert Majer, [current RTVS director] Vaclav Mika, Ales Rehak, [TASR general director] Jaroslav Reznik, Michal Ruttkay, Zuzana Tapaková and Stanislav Velitzky.

Public opening of envelopes with candidates’ projects will take place on Thursday (May 11) morning in the media committee. The committee members will then check whether all applicants have met necessary requirements. Those who meet them will be invited for the public hearing slated for May 30. The order of candidates within the hearing will be drawn by lots with only a candidate who is just submitting his/her project being present in the room.
Applicants for the post were asked to enclose the project of RTVS management and development ranging from 20 to 50 pages, extract from a criminal record not older than three months and a structured curriculum vitae.

In line with the law on RTVS, a candidate for its general director post must not be a member of RTVS Council. The requirements also include a university education of second degree and a five-year managerial experience. The post of RTVS chief is incompatible with the post of the Slovak president, MP, cabinet member, state secretary, a judge and a prosecutor.